Primary Returns & Annual Returns (s5.75 & s5.76 of the Local Government Act 1995)

The Local Government Act 1995 requires elected members and employees to make decisions in the best interests of the community and decision-making must be transparent, accountable and free from bias or conflicts of interest. In view of this, elected members and employees (with delegated authority) must disclose certain personal information when they commence and every subsequent year while either elected, or employed at the Shire. These disclosures are called “primary returns” and “annual returns”.

A primary return is a snapshot of personal financial information as it exists upon the start date of an elected member or an employee. An annual return retrospectively discloses any changes to the information previously disclosed, or any new interest information to disclose since completing their last return.

In accordance with the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act) and the Local Government (Administration) Regulations 1996 local governments are required to publish a list of elected members and employees (by position) that lodged a primary return and annual return for each financial year, commencing after 1 July 2020.

Section 5.88 of the Act requires the CEO to keep all primary and annual returns lodged in a Register of Financial Interests.  This is available for public inspection at the Shire’s Administration Centre during office hours.

Further information in relation to Primary and Annual Returns can be found on the Department of Local Government website.

Below are the listings that satisfy this requirement which will be updated from time to time.

Elected Members

Name Type of Return Date Lodged
President Mark Crees Annual 17 July 2024

Deputy President 

Ross DellaBosca

Annual 17 July 2024
Cr Daimon Geier Annual 4 July 2024
Cr Bill Huxtable Annual 4 July 2024
Cr Denver Simmonds Annual 4 July 2024
Cr Annslie Faithfull Annual 17 July 2024

Designated Employee

Name Type of Return Date Lodged
Chief Executive Officer Annual 17 July 2024
Deputy Chief Executive Officer Annual 4 July 2024
Construction Manager Annual 4 July 2024
Manager of Community Development Annual 4 July 2024
Senior Finance Officer Annual