Published: Tuesday, 21 November 2017 at 12:00:00 AM



The Shire of Westonia recently held a function in Westonia at the Miners Hall honouring retiring Councillor and former President Louis Geier for 32 years’ service to the Westonia Shire and community.

 At the function Council took the opportunity to award Louis Geier an Honorary Freemanship of the Shire.

The award was bestowed on Louis in recognition of his excellent service to the Westonia Council and the community. This service included:

 First elected in 1984 and served as the North Ward Councillor until 1993 (10 years). Re-elected in 1994 as the Town Ward Councillor until wards were abolished and has served as a councillor until retiring in 2017, a total of 32 years, making Louis the third longest serving Councillor for the Council, only behind C.A. (Cyril) Perrin 34 years and C.J. (Pip) Della Bosca 33 years respectively.

Elected as Deputy President in 2000 and served until 2003 where he was elected as president in 2003, a seat in which he presided until 2015. 

Since his election as Deputy President in 2000, he has been Council’s representative to the Great Eastern Country Zone WALGA until 2015. (15 years).

 Louis has been a representative on WEROC (Wheatbelt East Regional Organisation of Councils) since its inception, and also NEWROC (North Eastern Wheatbelt Regional Organisation of Councils), while a member of that group. He was also Council’s representative on the GEZ WALGA from 2000 to 2015, and the same period as Council’s representative on the Sub Regional Road Group. Also more recently, he has represented Westonia on the Central East Aged Care Alliance (CEACA) since its inception which was aimed at improving aged care facilities and resources for Westonia and the Central Eastern Wheatbelt. This group was recently awarded funding in the vicinity of $20 million of Royalties for Regions for stage 2 of the project.

Louis is also a current member of the Eastern Wheatbelt Declared Species Group and the Local Emergency Management Committee.

 But most importantly, Cr Geier was at the helm as President during Westonia’s most difficult period being the impending amalgamation process with the Yilgarn Shire. His strength and stability were paramount in steering the Council and Community during this period and forward with strength.


Louis was awarded a WALGA Local Government Merit Award in 2001 and a Long & Loyal Service Award in 2013. He also received the Premiers Australia Day Active Citizenship Award in 2013 for his service to the Westonia community and recently was awarded the Eminent Service Award at this year’s WALGA Local Government Week Conference.

 60 people attended the function which included family members, current and past Councillors and partners and several staff members who worked during Louis term.

 Honorary Freeman is the highest honour a Council can bestow on an individual and entitles the recipient to attend all Council civic functions as an honourable guest. The Westonia Shire has only awarded a Freemanship previously to former President/Councillor, John Della Bosca, back in 2007.

 Shire President Cr Karin Day presented Louis with his certificate of Freemanship at the Celebration Dinner.

KARIN DAY                                                                  JAMIE CRIDDLE

PRESIDENT                                                                 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Back to All News